SciFoo 2019

SciFoo 2019 wrapped last week, and I’m just now getting around to posting images.  Like all SciFoos, this one was spectacular with lightning talks, sessions on whether humans can control nuclear weapons by Jerry Brown, growing human hearts from Doris Taylor, Fully Automated Luxury Feminism by Brenna Walks @brennawalks and Kate Devlin @drkatedevlin, Zebra Finch Learning by Samantha Carouso-Peck @carousopeck, scuba diving for fossil whales in swamps by Jason Osborne @PaleoExplorer, Repairing things by Stewart Brand @stewartbrand, Thomas Reardon “Reardon”, Crystal Lantz @BoozyBrain talked about brainwaves and perceptual learning, Esther Dyson @edyson on long term thinking, Nevada Sanchez @nevadasanchez on a portable ultrasound on a chip technology, lab grown food by Ivana Gadjanski @ivanagadjanski, and a session on AI by Jack Hidary @jackhidary that I am hugely optimistic that will end up being a fruitful collaboration.  There were cool demos including one from Cat Allman @catallman on fossil elephant teeth, and insects with Gwen Pearson @bug_gwen.  I got to see friends, Jess Wade @jesswade, Crystal Lantz, Jason Osborne, David Weir @davidjamesweir, Cat Allman, Jessica Polka @jessicapolka, Karthik Ram @_inundata, Lola Fariñas @lolafarinas, Daniel Kim @ProfDanielKim, Jonathan Eisen @phylogenomics (portrait from this year, here), Alex Jackson @alexkeysjackson, Prachee Avasthi @PracheeAC, Brian Fitzpatrick @therealfitz, Michael Herf @herf (Portrait from this year here), Rick Klau @rklau, Michael Eisen @mbeisen, and Reardon Thomas but somehow missed one of my heroes, Rodney Mullen who was also at SciFoo.  Bonus: Got to sit down for a conversation with Katie Mack and talk science funding.  Portrait of her, here.

My thanks to the O’Reilly Conferences @OReillyMedia, Digital Science @digitalsci, Google @Google and Nature @nature for sponsoring SciFoo!

 

Right before SciFoo, I also got a chance to meet up with my friend and mathematician Aaron D’Souza @adsouza and my friend David’s daughter, Emily Hobby who is doing an internship at Google.

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/1000
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 1,600

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/45
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 1,600

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/2000
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 320

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/500
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 1,250

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/125
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 800

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/180
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 4,000

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/500
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 4,000

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/125
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 4,000

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/90
Aperture: f/2
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 4,000

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/60
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 4,000

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/60
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 4,000

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/500
Aperture: f/1.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 3,200

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/125
Aperture: f/2
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 2,500

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/800
Aperture: f/2
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 800

 

Camera: Apple iPhone XS
Exposure: 1/198
Aperture: f/1.8
Focal Length: 35mm equivalent
ISO: 64

 

Camera: Apple iPhone XS
Exposure: 1/41
Aperture: f/2.4
Focal Length: 52mm equivalent
ISO: 400

 

Camera: Apple iPhone XS
Exposure: 1/104
Aperture: f/6
Focal Length: 52mm equivalent
ISO: 32

 

Camera: Apple iPhone XS
Exposure: 1/49
Aperture: f/1.8
Focal Length: 26mm equivalent
ISO: 125

 

Camera: Apple iPhone XS
Exposure: 1/49
Aperture: f/1.8
Focal Length: 26mm equivalent
ISO: 125

 

Camera: Leica Monochrom
Exposure: 1/30
Aperture: f/2.4
Focal Length: 35mm
ISO: 4,000

 

Camera: Leica SL
Exposure: 1/4
Aperture: f/4
Focal Length: 10mm
ISO: 12,500

 

Camera: Leica SL
Exposure: 1/8
Aperture: f/4
Focal Length: 10mm
ISO: 12,500

 

Camera: Leica SL
Exposure: 3/5
Aperture: f/4
Focal Length: 10mm
ISO: 12,500

2 Replies to “SciFoo 2019”

Leave a Reply to Bryan Jones Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.